Is Greensboro, NC Safe? 2026 Crime Rates & Safety Report
Key facts
- 01
Greensboro, North Carolina reported 111.87 robbery offenses per 100,000 residents in 2025, 2.32 times the national reference of 48.24 per 100,000 and 63.63 per 100,000 above that reference, with 334 annual reported offenses (FBI CDE 2025 profile).
- 02
Greensboro, North Carolina reported 388.19 motor vehicle theft offenses per 100,000 residents in 2025, 2.01 times the national reference of 193.00 per 100,000 and 195.19 per 100,000 above that reference, with 1,159 annual reported offenses (FBI CDE 2025 profile).
- 03
Greensboro, North Carolina reported 445.47 aggravated assault offenses per 100,000 residents in 2025, 1.94 times the national reference of 229.56 per 100,000 and 215.91 per 100,000 above that reference, with 1,330 annual reported offenses (FBI CDE 2025 profile).
- 04
Greensboro, North Carolina reported 342.31 burglary offenses per 100,000 residents in 2025, 1.82 times the national reference of 188.15 per 100,000 and 154.16 per 100,000 above that reference, with 1,022 annual reported offenses (FBI CDE 2025 profile).
- 05
Greensboro, North Carolina reported 1,606.02 larceny-theft offenses per 100,000 residents in 2025, 1.45 times the national reference of 1,106.97 per 100,000 and 499.05 per 100,000 above that reference, with 4,795 annual reported offenses (FBI CDE 2025 profile).
Quick answer
In the Safety Atlas 2026 public safety index, Greensboro, NC has an adjusted safety score of 21.51 out of 100. It ranks #4 in this comparison set out of the 6 jurisdictions in the current scored comparison set in North Carolina. Its overall crime trajectory is currently classified as decreasing.
Jump to Section
2026 edition, FBI source year 2025.
Greensboro in 7 numbers
- Aggravated assault headlines a partial reporting year. 1,330 reports through October 2025, vs 1,807 in the same months of 2024 (−26%).
- More than a third of all reports are property crime. 9,155 of 20,428 reports (44.8%); larceny-theft alone is 4,795 (23.5%).
- Clearances skew toward violent crime. 80.8% of homicides cleared vs 6% of motor vehicle thefts and 9.9% of larcenies (2025, reports cleared ÷ reports received).
- A second look at aggravated assault. January (171) ran 6.6× October (26); the year finished down 26%.
- Only 10 of 12 months are in file. Year-over-year reads above use matching months only (through October); the missing months are not zeros, and late months can revise.
- The biggest volume isn’t violent. Simple assault (3,662) and vandalism (2,216) dwarf the whole personal-safety total (1,823, 8.9% of reports).
- Small months, big bars. In 2024, June’s 119 motor vehicle thefts vs August’s 192 is a gap of 73 reports, monthly charts amplify small-number swings. Read the 12-month direction, not one bar.
Takeaways are computed from FBI CDE reported counts (source year 2025, NC0410200). They describe reported data, not forecasts; check the methodology and coverage notes before reuse.
Every number on this page ships in the North Carolina workbook.
Key Public Safety Indicators
Reported rates per 100,000 residents; national references shown alongside.
| Offense Class | Annual Count | Rate per 100K | National Avg | vs National |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Robbery | 334 | 111.87 | 48.24 |
2.32× national |
| Aggravated Assault | 1330 | 445.47 | 229.56 |
1.94× national |
| Burglary | 1022 | 342.31 | 188.15 |
1.82× national |
| Larceny-theft | 4795 | 1606.02 | 1106.97 |
1.45× national |
| Motor Vehicle Theft | 1159 | 388.19 | 193.0 |
2.01× national |
Greensboro monthly trend: reported counts through October 2025 (partial year)
Annual totals hide timing. The bars below show 2025 reported counts per month for the three highest-relative indicator offenses; each table carries the same numbers with FBI pre-computed rates. The full 19-offense monthly series (2020-2025) is downloadable below.
Robbery, month by month
Preliminary, 334 reports through Oct 2025 (partial reporting year).
| Month | Count | Rate per 100K | Coverage |
|---|---|---|---|
| Jan 2025 | 32 | 10.31 | Partial year |
| Feb 2025 | 33 | 10.63 | Partial year |
| Mar 2025 | 36 | 11.6 | Partial year |
| Apr 2025 | 28 | 9.02 | Partial year |
| May 2025 | 33 | 10.63 | Partial year |
| Jun 2025 | 36 | 11.6 | Partial year |
| Jul 2025 | 51 | 16.43 | Partial year |
| Aug 2025 | 30 | 9.67 | Partial year |
| Sep 2025 | 45 | 14.5 | Partial year |
| Oct 2025 | 10 | 3.22 | Partial year |
| Nov 2025 | - | - | Not reported |
| Dec 2025 | - | - | Not reported |
Motor Vehicle Theft, month by month
Preliminary, 1159 reports through Oct 2025 (partial reporting year).
| Month | Count | Rate per 100K | Coverage |
|---|---|---|---|
| Jan 2025 | 135 | 43.5 | Partial year |
| Feb 2025 | 109 | 35.12 | Partial year |
| Mar 2025 | 135 | 43.5 | Partial year |
| Apr 2025 | 119 | 38.35 | Partial year |
| May 2025 | 125 | 40.28 | Partial year |
| Jun 2025 | 132 | 42.54 | Partial year |
| Jul 2025 | 133 | 42.86 | Partial year |
| Aug 2025 | 139 | 44.79 | Partial year |
| Sep 2025 | 112 | 36.09 | Partial year |
| Oct 2025 | 20 | 6.44 | Partial year |
| Nov 2025 | - | - | Not reported |
| Dec 2025 | - | - | Not reported |
Aggravated Assault, month by month
Preliminary, 1330 reports through Oct 2025 (partial reporting year).
| Month | Count | Rate per 100K | Coverage |
|---|---|---|---|
| Jan 2025 | 171 | 55.1 | Partial year |
| Feb 2025 | 118 | 38.02 | Partial year |
| Mar 2025 | 152 | 48.98 | Partial year |
| Apr 2025 | 161 | 51.88 | Partial year |
| May 2025 | 166 | 53.49 | Partial year |
| Jun 2025 | 133 | 42.86 | Partial year |
| Jul 2025 | 122 | 39.31 | Partial year |
| Aug 2025 | 135 | 43.5 | Partial year |
| Sep 2025 | 146 | 47.05 | Partial year |
| Oct 2025 | 26 | 8.38 | Partial year |
| Nov 2025 | - | - | Not reported |
| Dec 2025 | - | - | Not reported |
Clearances: what got cleared in 2025
81% of homicides cleared vs 6% of motor vehicle thefts, clearance follows violent crime, not volume.
| Offense | Reported | Cleared | Clearance rate |
|---|---|---|---|
| Homicide | 26 | 21 | 80.8% |
| Aggravated Assault | 1,330 | 468 | 35.2% |
| Robbery | 334 | 126 | 37.7% |
| Burglary | 1,022 | 188 | 18.4% |
| Larceny-theft | 4,795 | 473 | 9.9% |
| Motor Vehicle Theft | 1,159 | 69 | 6.0% |
Clearances ÷ reports received; clearances may concern earlier reports, so this is not a solve rate.
Monthly counts and FBI pre-computed rates per 100,000, FBI CDE source year 2025, NC0410200. Rates use FBI month-specific covered-population denominators and are shown as published, not recomputed. A hyphen (-) means not reported, not zero. Annual totals equal the sum of shown months within ±2% (see manifest).
Downloads: Greensboro monthly series (JSON) · same data (CSV) · build manifest
Comparing Greensboro to somewhere else? Take the file with you.
What drives Greensboro's safety score?
Greensboro ranks in the middle half of the 6 jurisdictions in the current scored comparison set in North Carolina, ahead of approximately 33% of that scored set. The profile uses a reporting population of 298,564 and source-year data through 2025; it is a citywide agency-level comparison, not a neighborhood forecast.
The strongest of the three score components is Personal Safety at 34.26, while Property Security is lowest at 6.08. The 28.18-point spread shows why the composite should be read by component instead of as a single absolute claim about safety.
Among the five public offense indicators, Robbery is highest relative to its national reference at 111.87 per 100,000 (2.32× the national rate). Larceny-theft is lowest on the same relative basis at 1606.02 per 100,000 (1.45× national).
Coverage check: 18 of 18 tracked offense classes have reportable values in this profile. Missing values are not converted to zero.
Public indicator mix
Greensboro, North Carolina recorded 4,795 larceny-theft offenses in 2025, 55.5% of the 8,640 reports across its five public indicators, compared with 334 robbery reports (3.9%); this share covers only those five indicators, excluding other offense classes.
Greensboro, North Carolina recorded 1,330 aggravated assault offenses in 2025, 15.4% of the 8,640 reports across its five public indicators, compared with 334 robbery reports (3.9%); this share covers only those five indicators, excluding other offense classes.
Greensboro, North Carolina recorded 1,159 motor vehicle theft offenses in 2025, 13.4% of the 8,640 reports across its five public indicators, compared with 334 robbery reports (3.9%); this share covers only those five indicators, excluding other offense classes.
Greensboro, North Carolina uses a reporting population of 298,564 residents and has values for 18 of the 18 tracked offense classes (100.0%) in its 2025 profile; coverage describes available classes rather than the share of residents reporting crime.
Greensboro, North Carolina has an adjusted score of 21.51 points out of 100 versus 33.91 in Raleigh, North Carolina, a difference of 12.40 points below that displayed state peer in the 2025 source-year profile; Greensboro ranks 4 of 6 scored jurisdictions in the published state comparison set.
Greensboro, North Carolina has an adjusted score of 21.51 points out of 100 versus 28.57 in Durham, North Carolina, a difference of 7.06 points below that displayed state peer in the 2025 source-year profile; Greensboro ranks 4 of 6 scored jurisdictions in the published state comparison set.
Detailed Crime Class Breakdown
Additional tracked offense classes
- Homicide
- Rape
- Kidnapping/Abduction
- Human Trafficking
- Arson
- Theft From Building
- Theft From Motor Vehicle
- Simple Assault
- Intimidation
- Stolen Property Offenses
- Vandalism
- Weapon Law Violations
- Drug/Narcotic Violations
Frequently Asked Questions
Is Greensboro safe compared to other places in North Carolina?
Greensboro is classified as having low relative safety in the 2026 Safety Atlas Index. It has an adjusted safety score of 21.51 out of 100 and ranks #4 in this comparison set out of the 6 jurisdictions in the current scored comparison set in North Carolina.
What is the crime rate in Greensboro?
Public offense rates are listed above.
What is Greensboro's safety rating?
Greensboro's safety rating in the 2026 Safety Atlas Index is 21.51 out of 100, which ranks #4 in this comparison set out of the 6 jurisdictions in the current scored comparison set in North Carolina. Its overall crime trajectory is currently classified as decreasing, using source-year data through 2025.
What is the safest neighborhood in Greensboro?
This profile covers the reporting jurisdiction; consult local sources for neighborhood detail.
Is Greensboro safer than Charlotte?
Yes. On the 2026 Safety Atlas comparison using FBI source-year 2025 data, Greensboro scores 21.51 (#4 of the 6 scored North Carolina jurisdictions) and Charlotte scores 17.84 (#5 of 6). Both show decreasing displayed trajectories. Raleigh leads the set at 33.91.
Why are some crime statistics locked for Greensboro?
Full offense series: state workbook.
How fresh is the monthly crime data on this page?
Monthly figures track FBI CDE source year 2025, the same vintage as the annual table above. A new FBI release typically lags several months; the caption stamps the source year and export date. Values can revise when the FBI re-publishes. Full monthly series for Greensboro are downloadable as JSON and CSV.
Why does the monthly chart move so much?
Monthly counts are small numbers, a difference of a few reports swings the bar. Reporting practice, staffing, and seasonal patterns all move single months. Read the 12-month direction in the trajectory line, not one bar. This profile measures the reporting jurisdiction only; it cannot rank neighborhoods within Greensboro.
What does the clearance rate on this page mean?
It divides 2025 reports cleared by 2025 reports received for that offense, including clearances of earlier reports, so it is a workload snapshot, not a guarantee a given case is solved. In Greensboro, violent offenses clear at far higher rates than property offenses (homicide 81%, motor vehicle theft 6%). Monthly clearance detail is not published yet.
Reading notes
North Carolina safety directory
Safety Atlas methodology · 2026 coverage report
Cite This Public Safety Profile
Citation formats:
Primary Source Data Integrity
- Crime Counts: FBI National Incident-Based Reporting System (NIBRS) database.
- Demographics: U.S. Census Bureau American Community Survey (ACS) 5-year estimate boundaries.
- Methodology: Adjusted per-capita normalization with small-sample relief controls. View our complete Methodology Documentation.